Pilih Bahasa

21 MPKK in Kapayan and Moyog receives RM10,000 each

PENAMPANG: A total of 21 Village Community Management Councils (MPKK) from N19 Kapayan and N20 Moyog received RM10,000 each as development grant from the Federal Rural Development Ministry here.

Five of them were from Kapayan and the rest from Moyog.

MPKK chairman from Kampung Tunoh Severinus Bantoi receiving the replica cheque from Jannie while Bryan Bernard Bai, (from left) Lendiana Chia, Christni Alus, Henry Idol, Benjamin Soikun and Cyril Liew look on. SNT Pix/Credit Adun Kapayan Liaison Office

“The government grant incentive is aimed at promoting active involvement of the MPKK with the local community by organising programmes that meet the needs of the villagers,” said Assistant Law and Native Affairs Minister Jannie Lasimbang during the handing over of the grant at the Penampang District Office.

Jannie said out of 52 villages in the two constituencies only 44 managed to submit their grant applications.

All 10 MPKK in Kapayan submitted their applications while only 34 out of 42 in Moyog did so.

“I hope that the remaining 31 villages will be considered in the next phase,” added Jannie.

She said the allocation was to assist the MPKKs to implement programmes at the village level based on their needs.

“I urge the MPKKs to mobilise all the machinery and for the villagers to participate directly in the implementation of the programmes so that its objective can be achieved,” she said.

Jannie said the Government would constantly review and improve policies related to the MPKK from time to time for the progress and development of the village.

“I also believe that the collaboration between MPKK members appointed by the Federal Government and the State Government will enable to stimulate rural development through programmes that will benefit the villagers,” she added.

In June this year, State Rural Development Minister Datuk Ewon Benedick disclosed that a total of RM100 million had been allocated by the Federal Rural Development Ministry to all MPKKs in the country.

Also present were Penampang District Officer Henry Idol, Federal Rural Development Ministry Deputy Director Christni Alus, Penampang Kemas Officer Lendiana Chia, Assistant District Development Officer (ADDO) Bryan Bernard Bai, PPM Kapayan Cyril Liew and PPM Moyog Benjamin -SabahNewsToday