Pilih Bahasa


By Chris Maskilone

KUCHING: Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) and Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) has agreed to form a working committee to review the ground status of the 1963 Malaysia Agreement (MA63).

PBS President Datuk Seri Maximus Ongkili said the committee would also be looking from the historical aspects, as well as the implementation and erosions of the agreement’s contents.

Dr Maximus and Abang Johari shaking hands during the meeting. SNT Pix/Credit PBS

This was among the outcomes of the meeting between leaders of PBS and GPS today that paved the way for political partnership in pursuing issues of common interest.

PBS, led by Dr Maximus and GPS by its chairman, who is also the Chief Minister, Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg, sat for about an hour, and touched on several key issues concerning both states.

“We (PBS) are here to strengthen our networking with GPS by exploring and discussing common grounds to pursue ongoing efforts in collaboration and cooperative arrangements as enshrined in the Malaysia Agreement 1963 (MA63),” said Dr Maximus after the meeting at the Chief Minister’s office at Wisma Bapa Malaysia, here.

The proposed working committee, he added, would also be reaching out to youths in Sabah and Sarawak through seminars and workshops.

Parti Bersatu Sabah President Datuk Seri Dr Maximus Ongkili, who led the party delegation, posed for the camera during the meeting with Gabungan Parti Sarawak Chairman, who is also Sarawak Chief Minister, Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Openg, at the latter’s office at the Wisma Bapa Malaysia in Kuching on Thursday. SNT Pix/Credit PBS

“This is to allow the younger generations are fully informed of the historical aspects of the MA63, as well as the events that led to the formation of Malaysia,” he said.

Dr Maximus added that PBS also in concurrence with Sarawak’s stand on non-bargainable issues such as on immigration, land and natural resources.

Also at the meeting were Sarawak Deputy Chief Ministers Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas and Tan Sri James Jemut Masing, PBS Deputy Presidents Datuk Seri Radin Malleh, Datuk Dr Yee Moh Chai, and Datuk Jamilah Sulaiman.

Others were PBS Vice Presidents Datuk Johnny Mositun, Datuk Almudin Kaida and Datuk Peter Mak, PBS Secretary General Datuk Jahid Jahim, PBS Information Chief Datuk Joniston Bangkuai, PBS Women Chief Datuk Anita Baranting, PBS Youth Chief Christopher Mandut, and PBS Assistant Treasurer General, Julita Majungki.-SabahNewsToday