Pilih Bahasa

Sabah to gazette 90 villages in forest reserve areas

Bernama pic

PENAMPANG, Nov 8  — The Sabah government has agreed to gazette all 90 villages in the that are in the state’s forest reserve area, said the State Rural Development Minister Datuk Ewon Benedick.

He said the decision was made two days ago at a state cabinet meeting chaired by Chief Minister  Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal.

The villages included in the districts of Kota Belud, Tamparuli, Tuaran, Tenom, Lahad Datu, Beluran and Pulau Banggi, he told reporters after launching the Penampang Tourism Association near here today.

In another development, Ewon, who is Kadamaian State Assemblyman said the cabinet had also agreed to the setting up of a special committee on rural tourism.

The committee, to be represented by the Rural Development Ministry and the Tourism, Culture and Environment Ministry, will look into improving relevant policies and infrastructure, as well as to help promote   and market rural products, he added.

He said the committee would be chaired by Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Christina Liew.